Mac Usenet  

Go Back   Mac Usenet > Main Category > Mac Wanted
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


20" Intel iMac for $1199?

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2006, 11:42 PM
Tolls Forthee
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 20" Intel iMac for $1199?

I found the above offer on Craiglist. I cannot find the ad now. However,
I emailed the advertiser and received the following web site address in
return. I have no idea whether the seller is legitimate or not, but I
thought I should post the URL:


*******************************
The total for 1 iMac 20" - 2GHz Intel Core Duo is:

$1.199.00 transferred for the item delivered by your door.

(Allow 5-7 days for the delivery with free shipping option)
__________________________________________________ ________________

To place an order for this item please visit:

http://www.storesoho.com/product_in...products_id=137

*******************************

Once at the site, I found an ad for a the computer listed above, but
very high-end, including a double-layer DVD recorder, a 500 GB hard
drive and 2 GB RAM.

I went all the way through creating an account at the site, fully
intending to purchase the iMac. Unfortunately, when I went to pay, the
seller will only accept a wire transfer, not a credit card. I only buy
stuff online using credit cards.

Wire transfers are like cash. There is no protection from fraud. Thus
wire transfers are a popular way to defraud online purchasers.

Again, I have no idea whether the seller is legitimate or not, but I
thought the Mac community should be aware of my experience. Buyer beware.
  #2  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:01 PM
Der.MEROVINGIAN
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 20" Intel iMac for $1199?

Don't get ripped off. It should be obvious to you that a site like
Craigslist is a face-to-face type online meet place. Only a stupid
person (not you) would play the wire transfer game. Even the people at
Craigslist caution against replying to ads that require Western Union
money transfers, cashiers checks and wire transfers. THEY ARE ALL SCAMS
AND FRAUDS. Be advised.


On 2006-04-20 19:42:49 -0400, Tolls Forthee <Hammer@shoedrop.ouch> (by
way of bearclaw@cruller.invalid) said:

> I found the above offer on Craiglist. I cannot find the ad now.
> However, I emailed the advertiser and received the following web site
> address in return. I have no idea whether the seller is legitimate or
> not, but I thought I should post the URL:
>
>
> *******************************
> The total for 1 iMac 20" - 2GHz Intel Core Duo is:
>
> $1.199.00 transferred for the item delivered by your door.
>
> (Allow 5-7 days for the delivery with free shipping option)
> __________________________________________________ ________________
>
> To place an order for this item please visit:
>
> http://www.storesoho.com/product_in...products_id=137
>
> *******************************
>
> Once at the site, I found an ad for a the computer listed above, but
> very high-end, including a double-layer DVD recorder, a 500 GB hard
> drive and 2 GB RAM.
>
> I went all the way through creating an account at the site, fully
> intending to purchase the iMac. Unfortunately, when I went to pay, the
> seller will only accept a wire transfer, not a credit card. I only buy
> stuff online using credit cards.
>
> Wire transfers are like cash. There is no protection from fraud. Thus
> wire transfers are a popular way to defraud online purchasers.
> Again, I have no idea whether the seller is legitimate or not, but I
> thought the Mac community should be aware of my experience. Buyer
> beware.



 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 2.0(RC6)